When the Stay-at-Home Mom and the Working Mom Collide…

1

February 17, 2012 by Kim


I have been a “working mom” for the majority of my child-rearing years

Other than the odd year or two off… I have somewhat successfully balanced motherhood with being a slave to “the Man”

Shit, who am I kidding… I’m raising all boys, I’m a slave to the Man 24/7

They’re just smellier mini versions of the Man

…always trying to keep a Momma down

This week I received the following “info-graphic” from Ben, who is affiliated with degreesearch.org

*don’t worry, I already checked out the site…. it won’t crash your computer or kidnap your Grandma…*

Online Degrees

I have always acknowledged how difficult it is to be a working mom.  I’m up at 5AM…. work until 4PM… and then perform Mom-duties until the kids go to bed.  Does it end there?  Not usually.

It can be utterly exhausting

Let’s just say that I was more than a  tad bit thrilled, in late 2007, when I realized that I would be able to try my hand at being a stay-at-home mom…

I remember thinking, those bitches got it MADE.

Yeah… they’ve got it “made” all right… just like someone who’s 51/50  has it “made”

Crazy-town

It wasn’t relaxing, it wasn’t easy and it sure as hell wasn’t what TV makes it out to be

I remember, clear as day… one morning, after dropping Dickie off at pre-k, I went into a local gas station.  It was still quite early and I was not looking my best… decent enough to go out in public but not what anyone would call “pulled together”

As I stood in line, at the register, I realized that there were hoards of “professionals” milling about…

I felt invisible among the suits, high heels and air of importance that surrounded me.

They all seemed so… essential

and I just felt like a nobody…

I remember wanting to climb up on the cashier’s counter, stomp my feet and scream out

I wanted them to realize that I was important… and intelligent… and worthy of being looked AT instead of directly though…

I wanted them to know I used to be one of them… and that I missed it

I wanted them to understand that this bitch does NOT have it made.

Luckily, for myself, I didn’t take that extra step into insanity… I silently paid for my energy drink and walked to my car…

I made my return to the working force, a short time later

*****

Not all women have what it takes to be a stay-at-home mom…

and not all women have what it takes to be a working mom

But, to each their own

explore your options…

and find what  makes YOU happy

One thought on “When the Stay-at-Home Mom and the Working Mom Collide…

  1. Exactly! To each his own.

Tell me how you REALLY feel...

Click here to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts, by email

Join 78 other followers

Blog Stats...

  • 37,719 people have accidently landed here while searching for Justin Bieber paraphernalia

Click to Vote…

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me!

Pinterest

The stuff you like…

Categories

Review this blog on Bloggers.com
Laughter Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
