Who’s Going To Be The Smart One Now…

3

August 23, 2011 by Kim


Let’s face it, fellow parents…. as much as I am aware that we are not supposed to admit this, it is common knowledge that only one kid can be the “smartest” of your brood.  We’re not talking favoritism here… merely IQ

My “smartest” began his first day of 8th grade yesterday.  Academics have never been a huge issue with him.  As long as he takes his ADHD happy pill, we’re good to go.  I kind of feel that, with him, I can run on auto-pilot in regards to his schooling.

Yesterday, as he returned from his classes, I decided to make at least one whole-hearted attempt at seeming involved.  As I looked through his binder and signed on the Xs, I noticed homework…. first day of school homework.  It was a simple assignment, he merely had to write one tiny paragraph detailing his summer.

30 minutes later he brought me the finished product. I quickly looked it over and observed something that made my heart literally stop inside my chest.

One simple word that seemed to flicker at me from his college-ruled notebook paper

A word that I had seen many times before.

“then”

Yes, it may look innocent here… staring at you from the comfort of my blog

All by itself…  No problems here, man…. just hanging out

Oh, but NO!  Do not let it’s sweet little exterior fool you…. it’s not as pure and good as it may appear

“My first day at Junior High was a little different then I had expected.”

then?

THEN!?

How about THAN, damn it?!

I can not believe my own flesh and blood would make that kind of irresponsible mistake…

Do I make typos?  Heck yes.   Nobody’s perfect and I get that.

However…

The then/than saga drives me insane!  There is a time to use then… and a time to use than.

Two very separate times!

Something must be done… the misuse of then/than is like fingernails on a chalkboard to me

I can’t even look him in the eye, right now…

3 thoughts on “Who’s Going To Be The Smart One Now…

  1. Oh their, they’re. You will be alright.

  2. Spectra says:

    It’s a shame, really, when good progeny goes bad.

    Can you maybe get a refund?

  3. […] TO READ MORE CLICK HERE… Sharing is caring… Pin ItDiggShare on TumblrEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Tell me how you REALLY feel...

Click here to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts, by email

Join 78 other followers

Blog Stats...

  • 37,723 people have accidently landed here while searching for Justin Bieber paraphernalia

Click to Vote…

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me!

Pinterest

The stuff you like…

Categories

Review this blog on Bloggers.com
Laughter Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
