When shots go bad…

6

May 29, 2011 by Kim


At some point last night, Hubs and I decided to go out for a bit and have a few drinks

It started out as a mind-numbingly quiet night…

We were sitting at our little table, Hubs playing Connect 4 on his cell phone and me watching him play Connect 4 on his cell phone.

*yawn*

I actually toyed with the thought that maybe…. just maybe we should just go home.

… we probably should have

***fast forward to me waking up, as the first beams of light are filtering though my bathroom window, curled into the fetal position next to the toilet***

…I think it happened again

***rewind back to the Connect 4 marathon***

The bartender noticed us, being recluses at our little table in the corner, and demanded that we come sit at the bar with everyone else

Two shots were plopped in front of us and that was the beginning of the end of the night.

Here’s the thing… I don’t “do” shots

Two reasons for this…

1. Drunk

2. Sick

Neither of which are fun in any way.

Any! Way!

So, against my better judgement, I took the shot

and all of the other shots that she bought us

Apparently I left any of the good sense I had and my ability to reason at home last night.

*sigh*

It’s funny how a night that starts out so mild and almost boring can end with me, behind the bar, helping with the dishes.

Why was I helping with the dishes?

3 reasons…

1. I’ve always secretly wanted to work behind the bar

2. I was convinced it would help sober me up

3. I was hoping that my assistance would be reflected on our tab.

I guess 1 out of 3 aint bad…

Helping behind the bar did absolutely NOTHING to lessen my drunken state and I completely “forgot” that they no longer take cards and drinks are paid for upfront in cash.

*fail*

But, on the bright side… I got to help behind the bar AND the bartender lady even pushed one of their white dishrags through my belt loop… declaring me to be “Official”

as the night came to a close I found myself back in the passenger seat of Hub’s truck, praying I could make it to the safety and comfort of my own bathroom before the “fun” began…

As the truck slide into the drive-thru of Jack in the Box I leaned my head against the door and tried to focus on the grass next to the truck…

…please don’t let the spinning start

I heard Hub ask what I wanted and managed to mumble two words

Big Cheeseburger

It probably came out more like Bih Cheeburuh…..

Luckily Hubs speaks drunk.

This morning, I woke up feeling surprising good.

and since I went straight from the truck to the bathroom where I promptly fell asleep, I still had my Big Cheeseburger to look forward to!

*winning*

…that is, until I realized that it had never been placed in the refrigerator, and was sitting on the nightstand in all it’s nastiness

*not winning*

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “When shots go bad…

  1. Who doesn’t take credit cards?

    Glad you got to have your wish fulfilled of time behind the bar.

  2. I’m sure it’s fine. Really. Jack in the Box, what could possibly go wrong? Oh, wait…

  3. mommygems says:

    This is hilarious! My husband and I usually drink at the comfort of our home for two reasons, I easily get drunk and I controllably laugh/cry when drunk!
    Anyway, I love your site! Will be dropping by here more often! 🙂 Have a great day!

  4. The Hook says:

    Alcohol – the cause of and solution to all of life’s problems!

Tell me how you REALLY feel...

Click here to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts, by email

Join 78 other followers

Blog Stats...

  • 37,723 people have accidently landed here while searching for Justin Bieber paraphernalia

Click to Vote…

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me!

Pinterest

The stuff you like…

Categories

Review this blog on Bloggers.com
Laughter Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
