Lions and Tigers and Crickets… oh MY!

1

April 12, 2011 by Kim


 So… the other night was a normal night… just like any other night.  Husband… long gone to his graveyard shift.Kids… Tucked away, dreaming about me bitching in their general directions….

Me… Enjoying my “Kim” time … sitting in bed, painting my toenails and watching the new Degrassi High marathon.

Photo Credit: studentsoftheworld.info

I put the finishing touches on my artwork and sprawled across my bed… eagerly taking in my 2nd hour of Degrassi goodness… It had been an awesome  night, I had watched both Cheaters and TMZ …. and now hours upon hours of uninterrupted Degrassi lay ahead.

As the show’s youngsters arrived at the beach, I noticed that along with the sounds of waves and teenage chatter there was also the hum of a cricket in the background…. A somewhat high-pitched annoying cricket chirp-hum type thing.

I mumbled my displeasure towards the show’s sound techs and turned the volume down… Didn’t want to wake the kids and spoil Kim-time… The waves and chit-chat slowly faded away… and the hum-chirp got louder…

W.T.F

Glancing around my room I suddenly came to the horrible realization…. These were NOT the hum-chirp sounds of any FAKE cricket….. Oh, NO!!!! This was a REAL cricket… AND it was hanging out IN MY FREAKING ROOM WITH ME!!!

Photo Credit: teddybearark.com

At this point the hum-chirp was almost shrill in pitch and my head was beginning to spin…. I got off the bed and headed to the door….. not really sure WHY…. I think I was headed for the bathroom to curl up into the fetal position and hide myself away from any evil high-pitched crickets that had decided I needed a room-mate.

As I reached to open my bedroom door the cricket flung itself from it’s hiding spot and ricocheted off all 4 walls about 7 times. I just stood there with my hands somewhat blocking my face…. wide-eyed as it torpedoed around my room. It finally came to a stop on my bed. We both stood there, motionless… staring at each other. I suddenly realized that it was going to be me vs. evil. I slowly leaned in closer for a better look at the beast. There was no fear in his eyes. I inched backwards and he began his attack again…. zip, zip, zip,zip…. I ducked my head down and muffled my flustered squeal…. I glanced back up just in time to see it fling itself towards whirling ceiling fan… The fan then putted Mr. Monster-Cricket to the wall behind my head. Down I went, again.

Somehow Mr. M.C landed on my dresser…. I swooped in and grabbed him with 2 finger. This, my friends is when Mr. M.C. lost his ever-buggin MIND!!!

I’m not sure if crickets have teeth, but I think this asshole bug tried to bite my finger off… so I did what any fearless bug catching warrior would do… I freaked out and dropped him.

Once again he was sitting on my bed. I momentarily played with the idea of letting him just HAVE the bed… I mean… I GUESS I could sleep on the floor.. maybe he’d let me get a pillow of the bed or somethi…..

Oh, Hell, No!!!

I swiftly grabbed a T-shirt off the dresser, flung it, Matrix-Style, around Mr. M.C. Clutching the T-shirt tightly closed I ran for the front door, flung it open and shook the shirt violently towards the lawn.

It’s been 2 days now…. I haven’t heard from or seen Mr M.C since our little fall-out. It’s probably for the best though.

One thought on “Lions and Tigers and Crickets… oh MY!

  1. Kimberly Merkel says:

    LMAO!!!!

Tell me how you REALLY feel...

Click here to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts, by email

Join 78 other followers

Blog Stats...

  • 37,719 people have accidently landed here while searching for Justin Bieber paraphernalia

Click to Vote…

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me!

Pinterest

The stuff you like…

Categories

Review this blog on Bloggers.com
Laughter Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
