Grocery Store Shenanigans

Leave a comment

April 8, 2011 by Kim


Can somebody please explain to me the allure of wearing your sunglasses INSIDE a store? I honestly don’t understand the whys or hows of this little phenom. Just this last weekend I almost forgot to remove my shades as I strolled into Vons. A horrible, chilling shame ran down my spine as I realized that, indeed… I was inside a store… a store with extremely adequate lighting…. wearing sunglasses. I quickly plucked them off my face, chucked them into the depths of my purse and choked down the urge to apologize to anyone within 25 feet of me. I really try to not go out of my way to look like a douche.
Entering my “grocery store trance” I began to wonder the aisles, stopping briefly in the pet section to take a picture of the pet food refrigerator to send to my husband. He totally did not believe it existed. Wrong buddy. A couple of steps further and I realized that Vons was playing Britney Spears “Hit Me Baby, One More Time” over the loudspeaker… it was about 2.5 more seconds before I realized that I was lip-singing and dancing along to the music. I REALLY do try to not go out of my way to look like a douche.
Fail
I managed to make it through the rest of the trip without incident and reached the checkout line. Unloaded, scanned and paid for my items. And then I met him. The wonder that is… the Slowest Bag Boy of All Time!!! He really was a sight to behold. The rate of speed that he was capable of not moving was sincerely impressive. He would bag 1 or 2 items and then stare off into space for about 45 seconds. Then he would bag another item… slowly look up at me and ask if I had found everything ok… bag another 3 items and stare off in space… bag 2 more and just stand there. I have a really hard time being rude to people who aren’t assholes… so I just dug in my purse, pretending to look for something, during the 10 minutes it took to bag my groceries. Maybe I should have just put on my sunglasses and performed my Britney Spears impersonation for him, while waiting….

Tell me how you REALLY feel...

Click here to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts, by email

Join 78 other followers

Blog Stats...

  • 37,723 people have accidently landed here while searching for Justin Bieber paraphernalia

Click to Vote…

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me!

Pinterest

The stuff you like…

Categories

Review this blog on Bloggers.com
Laughter Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
